some fall in love. i shatter.

46 Weeks; 46 Stories

In Uncategorized on March 18, 2013 at 2:13 pm

46 weeks, 46 stories.

Volume II of the 69 Love Stories Project went into the books last Monday.

Two-thirds of the way across the sky.

It’s been a pleasure and a misery; it’s come easily and it’s been an act of bloodletting. Crossing the halfway mark of this project brought impressions of accomplishment and fear, pride and trepidation, and the certainty that no matter how ugly it may get, I’ll see this thing through to the end.

So upon the closing of Volume II, as with the conclusion of Volume I, I’ve decided to step away from the 69 Love Stories site for the next few weeks. The pacing of one story every week dips deeply into the well of creativity and some time for replenishment is necessary. I’d like to see Volume III, the final set of stories, come into the world with a sense of renewed urgency, with a variation on the excitement that came with the commencement of Volumes I and II.

If you’re here as a subscriber or someone following the links on Facebook or Twitter, you’ll know when I’m back and Volume III has begun. If you’re not a subscriber, just click on the link to follow this blog and you’ll receive an email whenever a new story or update is posted. In the meantime, if you’re interested in contributing to the Project, I’d still love for you to get ahold of me and share your ideas. Just click on that ‘Contribute’ link and follow the instructions you find there.

I also want to thank everyone that has already contributed to this project. I’ve enjoyed both talking to you about the possibilities of your artistic contributions and seeing their effects within the stories. For those of you still considering how you’d like to contribute, there are only twenty-three stories left. If we’ve already begun a conversation, I’ll be in touch with you soon with reminders and follow-ups.

And finally I’d like to say thank you to everyone that’s been coming to this site simply for the sake of reading. It means a lot to know you’re out there and that I’m writing for someone.

Thank you.

  1. Go M! When you first mentioned the idea of 69 stories, I remember calculating: “There are 52 weeks in a year, 69 stories at the rate of one story/week will take more than one year… Goodness, who knows where we will be at that time.” And what a journey it has been, huh?! In so many ways. Cannot wait for Volume 3.

  2. Dear Matt,

    I applaud you for the “stick to it” energy you’ve exhibited. I, for one, would not like facing a deadline every week; particularly when I know I need to keep putting my best to paper. It’s not an easy chore you’ve chosen.

    Although I’d like to see you revisiting your first manuscript,(Las Vegas ?) writing as opposed to not, is nourishing.

    Love, Pa

Leave a Reply

